About the Östen Mäkitalo Awards

Through his visionary approach and ability to transcend boundaries between technology areas, his leadership contributed to innovations such as the world’s first fully automated mobile phone system, NMT, and the first national paging system. He also played a vital role in the development of GSM as well as several digital audio solutions, holding close to 20 patents.

Östen started his professional career at Televerket (now TeliaSonera) and remained with the company until his retirement when he became a guest professor at The Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

In memory of his great achievements, TeliaSonera has instituted a scholarship, The Östen Mäkitalo Award. The annual scholarship will be given to entrepreneurs and scientists who have pioneered the telecom field and who we believe have the same potential as Östen Mäkitalo had – a potential that could change the way we live.

Among the nominations received, the Award Committee will selected two nominations judged as best aligned with the creative spirit of Östen Mäkitalo.
Two winning nominations which will be presented at  the annual Award Ceremony, representing the spirit of innovation, as well as a potential for further developments and growth.

The Award Committee is headed byJens Zander, Professor of Radio Communications at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm. Other members of the committee include Acting Rector Linnar Viik, Estonian IT College, Professor Yrjö Neuvo, Aalto University School of Science and Technology, Malin Frenning, President TeliaSonera Broadband Services and Håkan Dahlström, President TeliaSonera Mobility Services.

Listen to Östen Mäkitalo talking about innovation .


{Widget zone placeholder}