Skanova broadband to cover Bollebygd district

The majority of the inhabitants of Bollebygd district will soon have access to broadband. On Thursday, the municipality signed an agreement with TeliaSonera for the addition of a broadband network to cover around 97 percent of the municipality. The network will give households a capacity of up to 8 Mbit/s and is expected to be complete at the end of November this year.
ll telecommunications exchanges in Bollebygd district will be upgraded to ADSL capacity, which utilises the copper wire in the existing network to give a very high degree of coverage even in sparsely populated areas. These telecommunications exchanges will also be connected to an optical fibre network or radio link with a very high transmission speed.
"We're working to profile ourselves as one of the best residential municipalities in western Sweden, and naturally, the broadband network strengthens this. Access to broadband is an important competitive advantage to us in terms of attracting residents and businesses to the district," said Christer Johansson, Chairman of Bollebygd Municipal Executive Board.
Users have free choice between the twelve operators that supply broadband services to private individuals and companies. Depending on the operator, all households within 3.5 km cable distance of a telecommunications exchange can get broadband of up to 8 Mbit/s capacity. Residents within 9 km cable distance can get at least 250 Kbit/s of capacity.
"Bollebygd is the twelfth district in the county of Västra Götaland that has signed an agreement with TeliaSonera for the extension of broadband. With the ADSL technology, we can cost-effectively offer broadband even to locations that are not commercially interesting to connect up using other technology. This means we are also reaching out to sparsely populated areas," said Susanne Jacobsson, Head of TeliaSonera Network Sales.
In the past year, TeliaSonera has signed agreements for the extension of broadband in a wide range of municipalities and counties, such as Lerum, Härryda, and Svenljunga in Västergötland, Strömstad, Tanum, Sotenäs, Munkedal, Lysekil, Stenungsund, Tjörn, and Orust in Bohuslän, Norrköping, Söderköping, and Valdemarsvik in Östergötland, plus Kalmar and Örebro counties.
Charlotte Löfgren, Press Officer Network&Production TeliaSonera Sweden.
This information was brought to you by Waymaker