TeliaSonera to award prizes for best mobile services in 2007

January 23, 2008 is the date for the third annual SurfPort Awards event, when TeliaSonera will award prizes to the companies that have developed the best content services for mobile phones during 2007. A new feature of this year’s SurfPort Awards is that TeliaSonera’s customers will be asked to vote for their favourite service.

“During the past year, we have been able to offer our mobile customers many new, fun and useful services for their mobile phones and it will be very exciting to see which service our customers choose as their favourite,” says Indra Åsander, Head of Mobile Content Services at TeliaSonera Sweden.

This year’s SurfPort Awards has six different competition categories, of which one –“Customers’ Favourite” – is new for this year. The idea behind this new competition category is to let TeliaSonera’s customers in the Nordic region, Baltic region and Spain vote for their favourite service.

Competition categories for the SurfPort Awards:

• Customers’ Choice

• Rising Star Award

• Mobile Music Service Award

• Mobile TV Service Award

• Mobile Game Award

• Mobile Service Award for User Generated Content (UGC)

This year’s winner will be selected by a jury consisting of Indra Åsander, Head of Mobile Content Services at TeliaSonera Sweden; Espen Swang, journalist for the Norwegian online magazine; Brian Dixen, Director of Development at the Internet publishing house Mediaprovider A/S in Denmark and Finnish Formula 1 driver Heikki Kovalainen.

The SurfPort Awards ceremony will take place in Stockholm on January 23, 2008.

EMOTE08 will be arranged the same day – a seminar on the latest trends in mobile content. Indra Åsander and Kenneth Karlberg, Head of Mobility Services at TeliaSonera, will participate as guest speakers at the seminar. Anna Bråkenhielm, CEO of Silverback, Stefan Blom, Chief Operating Officer of EMI Music Scandinavia, and TeliaSonera are the main sponsors of EMOTE08, which is being arranged in collaboration with the media publishing house IDG and Minnesota Communication.