Winners selected for TeliaSonera’s 2007 internship contest

– Finland and Denmark strengthen team behind Eurovision Song Contest 2007 On Wednesday, April 12, a unanimous jury chose Eveliina Louhivuori, age 24 from Helsinki, and Per Holsteen Larsen, age 27 from Copenhagen, as the winners of TeliaSonera’s Internship Contest for 2007. Eveliina and Per will now be part of a team that will help arrange the biggest musical TV-event in Europe during 2007 – the Eurovision Song Contest in Helsinki, Finland.

Thousands of young people from Sweden, Finland, Norway, Denmark, Lithuania and Spain participated in TeliaSonera’s internship contest, which started on March 19. Of these participants, 12 went on to the finals on Wednesday in Stockholm, where a professional jury led by Svante Stockselius, Head of the Eurovision Song Contest, chose the winners.

In the face of very tough competition, the contest was finally won by Eveliina Louhivuori, age 24 from Helsinki, who was awarded the internship position as Event Marketing Trainee, while Per Holsteen Larsen, age 27 from Copenhagen, captured the internship position as New Media Trainee. Both internships involve three weeks of work with pay in Helsinki, including round-trip travel and accommodations during the period.

“Using our mobile services, we could arrange an international competition for young people that allowed them to demonstrate their own personal competence and win the opportunity for a once-in-a-lifetime career opportunity,” says Karin Moberg, Vice President, Brand Management, at TeliaSonera.

TeliaSonera conducted the contest in cooperation with Nokia and the European Broadcasting Union. All finalists received a mobile phone from Nokia and a personal gift from Ruslana, Winner of the European Song Contest in 2004.

The other finalists were:

Rikke Krause 20 yrs Copenhagen Denmark

Miia Jalava 22 yrs Virrat Finland

Lina Armaityte 25 yrs Vilnius Lithuania

Tomas Mockus 24 yrs Vilnius Lithuania

Stian Tjensvold 27 yrs Stavanger Norway

Benedicte Onsoien 24 yrs Trondheim Norway

Luis Miguel Alonso Estévez 25 yrs Vigo Spain

Linus Sandberg 25 yrs Kalmar Sweden

Erica Viklund 26 yrs Luleå Sweden

TeliaSonera has been granted extensive pan-European event, association, media and new media rights for the upcoming events. The 52nd Song Contest will be hosted in Helsinki by the Finnish National Broadcaster YLE and will include two live televised shows in one week: the Semi-Final on May 10 and the Final on May 12 2007. In 2006, the Finnish group Lordi won the ESC in Athens.