New Board of Directors elected in MegaFon

A new MegaFon Board of Directors was elected at the Annual General Shareholder’s Meeting today.

Under the current structure the MegaFon Board consists of seven members, three nominated by AF Telecom, three nominated by TeliaSonera, and one independent member. Lars Nyberg, President and CEO of TeliaSonera, Tero Kivisaari, President, Business area Eurasia and Cecilia Edström Senior Vice President, Group Communications were elected as TeliaSonera’s nominated members.

As a result of a re-alignment in the shareholder base as of April 24, 2012, MegaFon has two principal shareholders, companies in the AF Telecom Group (50 percent and TeliaSonera (35.6 percent) while the remaining 14.4 percent is held by a wholly owned subsidiary of MegaFon.

MegaFon press room